Worldrunner3's Blog

September 21, 2010

Separations and snacking

Filed under: Uncategorized — by worldrunner3 @ 10:19 am

The hubster and his company are in the field this week, sleeping in foxholes that they get to dig themselves. I’m sure he’s having a wonderful time. Except for the fact that he’s SLEEPING IN A HOLE. You know. Other than that.

Our FRO put on a coffee last night, which was tasty Subway sammies and a session on family care plans and deployments. Kind of icky stuff, although the lady who spoke on family care plans did remind us, “Put on your big girl panties and make some big girl decisions.” True. And yes, families who don’t have kids or even pets yet need to make a family care plan. For example, what if your hubby is deployed or on TAD for 30 days and you break your leg? You’re not in the hospital for those 30 days, you’re at home. Who is going to help you? Better be someone you really trust, if they’re going to help you toilet and bathe! It’s not fun to think about, but it is necessary.

Right now, Kevin is never going to be in “that box” to work on our will, getting me special power-of-attorney, and creating our family care plan. However, after TBS is over, I will be insisting we make an appointment at Base Legal to get all of our stuff squared away. I think I’ll feel better when everything is all prepared and ready.

As I previously mentioned, Kevin is in the field. Which means I get to spend a lot of time at home, chilling by myself. The temptation to snack is almost unbelievable. And no, these aren’t the healthy snacks either!

“Kari…How about a bunch of chips and salsa?”

“Kari…Why don’t you go down the street to McDonald’s and get a Big Mac?”

“Kari…You should consider eating Nutella straight out of the jar. Really.”

It’s pretty tough to keep myself from just constantly eating. So that’s why I’m blogging. If both hands are busy typing, I can’t eat. Unless I allow myself to take breaks.

Uh oh…I’m running out of things to write about!!

Wish me luck as I’m dragged back into the kitchen.

2 Comments »

  1. Snacks: have you tried ‘Laughing Cow’ cheese? You can buy it in different flavors, wrapped in wedges that are like 30-40 calories each. I can get it at Kroger, so it shouldn’t be hard to find. Very yummy on some whole grain crackers!

    Comment by Leslie — September 22, 2010 @ 7:22 am |Reply

  2. Hang in there partner. Love you and miss you a lot. Just saw Erin, David and little “Maggie”. Take care. Papa

    Comment by clyde hall — September 25, 2010 @ 9:06 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

